Frostings

Salted Caramel Frosting

IMG_0991

I went to bed last night wondering what my next recipe should be.  My Mother’s Birthday is in a few days and even though she is no longer with us I always like to do something special for her, just to let her know that I’m thinking of her, that I miss her and that I love her.  I find myself talking to her as I am baking and cooking, all the time!  I asked her this afternoon what kind of cake she would like for her birthday and of course she didn’t answer me but as soon as I finished asking the question the answer popped into my head… Spice Cake…

Spice Cake was one of my Mother’s favorite cakes of all time to make and being a kid well, I really wasn’t all to fond of it.  She put canned cream cheese icing on it, yuk!  LOL  So I decided to do one better and make homemade frosting for Mom’s cake.  Hope you enjoy it. 

Salted Caramel

1    cup       sugar
4    Tbsp   . water
2    Tbsp.    light corn syrup
1/2  cup      heavy cream
2    Tbsp.    butter
1/2  tsp.      lemon juice
1/2  tsp.      salt, kosher or sea

1. Combine the sugar, water, and the corn syrup in a large saucepan and stir with a wooden spoon over medium heat until sugar is dissolved.
2. Let it cook over medium heat for 3 minutes.
3. After 3 minutes,  increase the heat to medium-high, and bring to a boil.
4. Do not stir from this point on, but instead, carefully swirl the liquid around the pan so that the caramel doesn’t burn.
5. Continue to cook until the caramel turns an even amber color then remove from the heat and let stand for about 30 seconds.
6. Be careful here, Pour the heavy cream into the mixture. The mixture will bubble up significantly and is very hot.
7. Stir the mixture, again being careful. Add the butter, lemon juice, and salt. Stir until combined.
8. Measure 1 cup into a Pyrex measuring cup. Stirring occasionally, allow to cool until thick like molasses and warm to the touch, about 20 minutes. Save any extra in a sealed container in the refrigerator.

 

Salted Caramel Frosting

2 sticks     butter softened, room temperature
8 oz          cream cheese
3-4 cups   sifted powdered sugar
1 cup        salted caramel (recipe above)

1. Beat butter and cream cheese at medium speed until creamy.
2. Add 2 cups of the powdered sugar into the butter/cream cheese mixture and beat to combine.
3. Add 1 cup of the salted caramel and beat to combine.
4. Add additional powdered sugar until the frosting is the sweetness and consistency you desire.

Leave a Reply

