Cakes

Black Rum Pound Cake

DSC01641

I’m not a huge fan of Rum, especially Black Rum but seeing’s that the holidays are right around the corner I thought, why not give it a try.  I love pound cake, I know how to make it but not with alcohol in it and being a new baker to the higher elevations well, why not!  I was a little worried when I took it out of the oven though, it was, don’t laugh, but it was wrinkly.  At first I didn’t know what to think but then it hit me.  The only thing I could really come up with is it looked this way  because of the Rum, right?  Well, that’s my story and I’m stickin to it!  LOL   It may have been a bit wrinkled but it was moist, buttery and tasted great!  Please let me know if you make it and how yours turned out, I would love the feed back.

 

1       Cup        (2 sticks)  Unsalted Butter, room temperature

2      Cups       Sugar

5                       Eggs

3      Cups       All Purpose Flour

1/2   tsp.        Baking Powder

1/4   tsp.        Salt

3/4  Cup        Sour Cream

2       Tbsp.     Pure Vanilla Extract

1/2   Cup        Black Rum

 

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Butter a large bunt pan or tube cake pan.  You can also use 2, 9 x 5 inch loaf pans if you like.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl sift together the flour, salt and the baking powder.  Set aside.

DSC01659Using the paddle attachment on your stand mixer,  on medium speed, beat the butter until nice and smooth, until it looks like silk. Then add the sugar and cream together until light and fluffy, about 3 – 4 minutes.  Add the eggs, one at a time making sure to mix well before adding the next.  Scrap down the sides of your mixing bowl after 3 eggs, don’t forget the bottom of the bowl.

DSC01695At this point you can add the vanilla extract to the Black Rum.  Alternate with the sour cream and the dry mixture just until combined, ending with the dry.  Scrap down the sides and the bottom of your bowl and slowly mix one more time.  Stir in the Black Rum by hand.  You don’t want to over-beat the batter yet you want it nice and smooth.

Scoop the batter into your well buttered pan or pans and bake for 50 to 60 minutes, until the edges just start to turn a light golden color and a toothpick comes out just about clean when inserted in the middle of the cake.   Cool 15 minutes on a wire rack before inverting it from the pan or pans.

Now, you have a few different options on how to serve your cake.  As you can see in the picture above, I served it with Fumbleberry Jam.  My boys had theirs with Peach Jam, all homemade by the way.  Recipes for those in future posts to come.  Even though this is a Rum Pound Cake there really isn’t a boozy taste too it.  If you would like a more grown-up taste you could always make a Black Rum Glaze to go over it I guess.  I haven’t tried to make that yet but when I do, I’ll let ya’ll know.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

