Christmas Treats · Pie

Grandma Kimmi’s New Pumpkin Pie

DSC01979

My New Pumpkin Pie Recipe…  my Mother taught me how to make this pie from the back of the Libby’s Pumpkin Puree can.  We did add a little more spice than called for and did something that the recipe did not call for, which in my opinion makes this pie stand out to be so much better than your average, run of the mill Pumpkin Pie. Wanna know the secret???   We cooked down the Pumpkin which makes the pie not so much like a Custard Pie.  It’s not a creamy, soft, silky pie.  It’s a nice soft, dense pie.  A Pumpkin Pie with Body you could say!!!   My Mother could always get the spices just right but me, nope, never could.  I always ended up with either to much Clove or to much Ginger.  It’s taken me 33 years to finally perfect this pie and I must say… I really think my Mother would approve!  I hope you will try out this recipe and tell me what you think.

Criticism , whether good or bad, I will take.  Please take some time and look thru my blog.  Leave me some comments or if you have questions about any of  my recipes, I will be happy to get back with you.

Thanx Ya’ll !!!!

 

Ingredients

1            29 oz.        Can Libby’s Pumpkin Puree, cooked down

1 1/4     Cup           Sugar

1/8        tsp.           Ground Nutmeg

1/2        tsp.           Ground Cloves

1            tsp.           Ground Ginger

2           tsp.            Ground Cinnamon

1/2        tsp.            Salt

1/8        tsp.            Pumpkin Pie Spice  (recipe below)

4                               Eggs

1            12 oz.        Can of Evaporated Milk

2            9″             Deep Dish Frozen Pie Crust, thawed

DSC01959

In a large, non-stick fry pan, on medium heat,  cook down the pumpkin puree until most of the moisture is gone out of it.  It will be reduced by 1/3 by the time it is finished cooking.  It will look a bit dry and that’s what you want.

DSC01954

Once the pumpkin is the consistency it should be,  spoon all of it into the mixing bowl of your stand mixer, spread it all over the inner side of the whole bowl and then put it in the refrigerator to cool, about 25 -30 minutes should cool it down just fine.

Preheat your oven to 425 Degrees.  Place your pie shells on a baking sheet for easy handling and pouring the filling into.

DSC02048

DSC01702

Once your pumpkin is cooled down, using the whisk attachment on your stand mixer add your sugar, ground nutmeg, ground clove, ground ginger, ground cinnamon, salt and pumpkin pie spice.  On low speed, mix just until combined then add your eggs and 10 oz. of the evaporated milk.  Increase to medium speed, mix until everything is well incorporated.  At this point your filling will be a little thick.  You don’t want your filling to be runny,  so it’s up to you if you would like to add the rest of the evaporated milk at this time.  I always do!  You don’t want your pies to be dry and dense now do you?  I know I wouldn’t!

DSC01973

Pour your filling between both pie shells, make them as even as you can.  Bake for 15 minutes.  Reduce oven temperature down to 350 Degrees and bake for another 40 -50 minutes or until a knife inserted near the center comes out clean.  If the edges of your pie shells are getting a bit to brown for your liking you can always wrap some foil around them or better yet, if you have the metal pie shell protectors to put on them, that would be good too.

Cool on wire racks for 2 hours then cool completely in the refrigerator overnight.  There’s no need to cover them, just let them cool un-covered.

*Pumpkin Pie Spice Mix

3     Tbsp.        Ground Cinnamon

2     tsp.           Ground Ginger

2     tsp.           Ground Nutmeg

1 1/2    tsp.      All Spice

1      tsp.           Ground Cloves

 

 

Note: I would advise not freezing your pumpkin pie after it has been baked.  The filling will come away from the crust.  Doesn’t make for a very pretty looking pie!!

 

Leave a Reply

