Christmas Treats · Flavored Exctracts · Pie

Rockie Mountain Pecan Pie

DSC01739

Okay, before you read any further… The very first pie you see is now the way I am making my Rockie Mountain Pecan Pies.  I have just been too disappointed with the outcome of the decorative ones. So, until I can get it right, no more half nuts on top of my pies for a while.  But, I am leaving all of my photos and adding a few more so, don’t be confused, it’s all the same great tasting pie just looks a bit different, that’s all.

DSC01754

Christmas is right around the corner and I have A LOT, of baking to do as I normally do around the holidays.  This year I was asked to bake a few pies for an adopted family at a local business in the town I live in.  A Pecan Pie and a couple of Pumpkin Pies.  The Pumpkin Pies I have down pat but the Pecan Pie…. never made one in my life!  I always thought it would be to hard and honestly, I’m not a pie making gal.  Guess I could be, I mean, I have made a few different yummy pies in my day.  Anyhow, I did what I always do… I got online, looked thru a dozen pie recipes and made up my own Pecan Pie Recipe and it turned out Fantastic!!!  There is only three of us in our family and by the next afternoon there was only one piece of pie left.

DSC01749

I only had one little sliver, my boys ate the rest of it.  I guess they liked it. LOL  Once it was all gone my man asked me when I was making another one!  Now, if I could just learn how to make a pie crust from scratch!!!

 

3/4      Cups          Sugar

3          Tbsp.         Brown Sugar

1/4       tsp.           Ground Cinnamon

1/4       tsp.           Salt

1           Cup           Corn Syrup

3/4       tsp.           Pure Vanilla Extract

1           tsp.           Pure Maple Syrup

1/3       Cup            Butter, melted

4                              Large Eggs

2    Cups          Chopped Pecans

DSC01724

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Place a 9″ deep dish pie shell on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  I suggest doing this just in case your pie has a mind of it’s own and decides to go exploring like my very first pie  did. LOL   Luckily, I did do this mess saving tip, otherwise my oven would have been impossible to clean!  Yuk!!!

DSC01730

In a large bowl, whisk together the sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, salt, corn syrup, vanilla extract, maple syrup and the eggs.  I know, I know.  In the above photo there is no brown sugar, I just didn’t put it in the bowl yet.  Sometimes I do things backwards, like taking pictures before I should!  LOL  Sorry about that.

DSC01732

Whisk it up all nice…

DSC01731

Now, melt your butter then add it to your sugar mixture.

DSC01725

Then add those yummy chopped pecans..

DSC01733

Stir them up real nice and pour all that yumminess into that unbaked pie shell.  Now, here is where you can just put it in the oven or you can get a bit creative as I did.

DSC01737

I put half pecans on top of the pie.  Made it look really pretty but this being my first pecan pie I’ve ever made well, there were a couple of things I didn’t know that I do know now!  Number one, DO NOT… Fill your pie shell all the way to the brim with the filling, it will overflow and ruin the look of your pretty decorated pie.  Why?  Because as your pie bakes it rises like a cake.  No worries though, it will calm it’s self down once out of the oven.

DSC01736

You will probably have some pie filling left.  You can make some pecan cup cookies with it like I did.  Yummy!!!

DSC01734

You can place your pecans anyway you like, this is just what I did and it turned out really nice except…. the pecans did get a little bit to brown for my liking.  So, tip number two…

DSC01738

Cover the top of your pie loosely with a piece of foil for the first 30 minutes of baking.  You can see where it bubbled up and started to overflow, I was not a happy camper when I saw this!

Remove foil and continue baking for another 20 minutes.  Now, be careful not to burn the crust or the pecans cause they will both get a bit brown if you don’t watch them!  Just take another look at the above photo, oops!!!

If your pie is a bit to wiggly, cover it with foil and cook for another 20 minutes or until a knife comes out clean or, just about clean when stuck in the center of the pie.  Your pie shouldn’t take longer than 70 minutes…. Let’s hope!!!

I will be making another pie next week and I will let ya’ll know how that one turns out for sure!

DSC02059

Well, here it is, this time I mad it without the nuts on top…

Note: I always had pie mixture left over so,  I just stuck it all into a mason jar and put it in the freezer. When I was ready to bake a pie for my family, and my family only.  I only use leftovers on my family, never my customers, let me get that out there!!  Everything I make for my customers are always fresh, no if, ands or buts!!!   Back to what I was saying… I took the jars of filling out of the freezer, thawed them in the fridge for a day. When ready to use the filling, pour into a medium bowl, scrap out your jars very well with a small spatula then mix, mix, mix till all ingredients are combined once again.  Now pour into your prepared pie shell.  Follow baking instructions as stated above.

Prepared my thawed pie crust by poking it with holes from a fork, placing it on a baking sheet…. yayayaya, just as directed above, baked as directed above and there you have it!  Another nummy, yummy pie by Kimmiz Kreations!  Enjoy!!!

I think the boys enjoyed it for sure!  Didn’t bother even using a fork!! LOL

Leave a Reply

