Candy · Christmas Treats · Flavored Exctracts

Eazy Peazy Fudge

 

I remember as kid my Mother would always make fudge at Christmas time.  She wasn’t big on baking, if she couldn’t make it in the microwave then she pretty much wouldn’t bake.  That’s why she taught me at a very young age how to bake.  Sure, microwave cooking is not baking, at least in my eyes it isn’t but she did teach me the old fashion way of baking as well, right in the oven, thank you Mommy!  My fudge recipe is different than my Mothers recipe, she used to make hers with a jar of marshmallow crème.  Sorry Mom, had to change it up on ya, I don’t like the sticky mess of that jar!  Not to mention, my fudge comes out so silky smooth with no sugary grittiness too it.  It is to die for!

DSC01772

This is going on my Christmas goodie plates for sure this year!!

 

1   Pkg.         Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips

1   Can          Sweetened Condensed Milk

1   tsp.          Pure Vanilla Extract

1   Cup          Chopped Walnuts or Pecans, optional

DSC01759

In an 8 x 8 baking pan, place a piece of parchment paper big enough so that there is about 2 inches hanging off of each side, (2 sides of the pan).  This will make it easy for the fudge to come right out of your baking dish.  Now, it’s up to you if you want a little more reassurance, you can spray the pan with Pam, I didn’t and my fudge came out of my pan with no problem.  So, totally up to you.  If you’re going to be using an old metal pan then yes, I think I would spray it, just to be on the safe side.

DSC01761

In a large microwave safe glass bowl add the chocolate chips and sweetened condensed milk and microwave for 1 1/2 minutes on high.  Take out and stir with a wooden spoon, put back in and cook for another 2 – 3 minutes but only do it at 30 second intervals!!  Every microwave is different and your fudge might get done faster than other peoples fudge.  Get what I’m sayin! LOL

DSC01767

When your fudge is all nice, hot and creamy add the vanilla extract.  After your vanilla is all mixed in this would be the time to add the nuts, if you’re adding nuts.

DSC01763

Then pour all that yumminess into your prepared pan, spread it out with an off-set spatula and let cool on the counter top for an hour then into the fridge it goes for at least 4 hours before cutting it into bite size little pieces to indulge in.

DSC01764

YUMMY!!!

DSC01779

YUMMY!!!

DSC01788

YUMMY!!!

Leave a Reply

