Christmas Treats · Cookies · Flavored Exctracts

Gramdma Baker’s Almond Cookies

 

I got this recipe about 20 years ago from my youngest daughters Great Grandma Baker.  One heck of a Lady let me tell ya!  I like to elaborate when I write down a recipe, put my personality into it you could say.  Grandma Baker wrote her recipes down for me as short and sweet as she could get them, I sure do miss her!  I wrote down the directions for this recipe exactly the way she wrote them down for me.  There’s a photo here for ya to take a gander at.  You’ll notice that the portions are off between both of our recipes.  Grandma Bakers original recipe only makes 20 to 22 cookies, that just wasn’t enough for my family of 7 so of course I had to double it!

This is one of those cookie recipes that you can double, triple, quadruple, and so on and as long as you stick to the original recipe, your cookies will always turn out great!  It was also the only cookie recipe in my personal cookbook that didn’t get white-out all over the page. LOL  Coming from Arizona, movin all the way up to the mountains, yuppers, I had to change just about all of my recipes when it came to baking.  That’s okay though, I love a challenge.

DSC01877

I hope this recipe will be the beginning of a great tradition in your family for the holidays as it was for mine.

(remember, this is a double recipe that I have written down here.)

1         Cup       Butter, softened – room temperature

1          Cup       Sugar

2                         Eggs

2 1/2   Cups      All-purpose flour

1           Cup       Ground almonds

4           tsp.       Almond extract  (you can substitute it with Amaretto)

Sugar Crystals, optional

 

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

DSC01880

(cream the butter all nice and smooth)

DSC01879(add the sugar and mix some more)

DSC01881DSC01883(add the eggs, almond extract and your almonds and mix some more.)

In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar.  Beat in the eggs, almond extract and almonds.  Gradually mix in the flour until well blended.  Drop by teaspoonful’s 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheets.DSC01887

Bake 5 to 8 minutes in the preheated oven, or until cookies are lightly colored.

DSC01895

(lightly colored as in, just starting to get a little golden brown on the bottom edges.)

DSC01914I lined my baking sheets with parchment paper and used a small cookie scoop for these cookies.  When I took them out of the oven I let them cool on the baking sheet for 2 minutes then transferred them onto a paper towel.  Placing them on a paper towel instead of a wire cooling rack just helps absorb some of the extra butter that is on the bottom of your cookies, that’s all.  Oh, and the colored sugar crystals…. I just do that on a few of the cookies for Christmas.  Normally, I would just leave them plain, they are fantastic just the way they are, NAKED!

Enjoy!!!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

