Cakes · Naked Wedding Cakes

Flourless Chocolate Cake

Good morning, Good morning, Good morning!!!  I think I’ve had to much Espresso today! LOL  Well, as I was strolling thru Pinterest  the other day and I came across this recipe.  I have my own Flourless Cake recipe but I didn’t have the right chocolate for it on hand and I was really in the mood to make one today so I thought I would give this one a try.  Me being a chocoholic well, let’s just see how long this cake will last in our house! I’m adding some photo’s I took today while making this cake but tomorrow I will be adding the finishing touch photo’s so ya’ll can see what the completed and dressed cake looks like.  I can’t wait to see it myself!! So please, come back and check it out, would ya’ll.  I would love to know what you think.  Just leave me a little comment, that would be awesome!  Thanx.

Seriously,  with me starting my own cake business I have got to bake a lot of cakes and try them, right!  Man, am I gonna gain a lot of weight!  LOL  I can’t wait for Spring to come so I can get outdoors and do some hiking, work off these extra pounds I’ve been putting on!  I wish some of my friends and family would offer to buy my cakes and goodies instead of my just giving them away.  It would soooo help with the cost of making everything, ya know what I mean.  But, that will come soon enough, I hope!  Until then, I just want to bake Awesome cakes, create Awesome, Beautiful Naked Wedding Cakes, etc.

20150814_192319This is the wedding cake I made for my oldest daughters wedding this past August.  The picture doesn’t do it justice cause my phone camera sucks!!  But it was Beautiful!!  Just one of the many Naked Cakes that I do….

Hope everyone is enjoying my Blog so far.  My only advice to ya’ll is…. Eat more cake!!!  Yummy!!!  🙂

DSC02107

Ingredients

10   Oz.                                   Dark Chocolate  65 % Cocao

1  1/2  Sticks                         Butter, cubed

2      Tbsp.                              Hot Espresso

6       Lg.                                  Eggs

1/3    Cup                                Sugar

2       Tbsp.                             Powdered Sugar, (optional for dusting)

 

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Very lightly butter the sides of an 8″ spring form pan and line the bottom with a piece of parchment paper, set aside.

DSC02110

Chop up your chocolate into tiny pieces or sliver it, either way, as long as they are in little pieces, and put it in a microwave safe glass bowl along with your cubed butter and hot espresso.  Microwave for 30 seconds.  Stir.  Microwave another 30 seconds and stir again.  Do this 3 or 4 more times until the chocolate is all melted and smooth. Set aside.

DSC02113

In your stand mixer, using the whisk attachment, add your eggs and sugar.  Whisk on medium – low for 3 minutes then turn up the speed to medium – high and whisk for another 5 -6 minutes.  You want your egg mixture to double in size, lighten in color and be nice a frothy looking.

Now, fold 1/3 of the egg mixture into the chocolate mixture.  Then add the rest of the egg mixture to the chocolate, folding yet again and very gently.  this will take some time but you don’t want to deflate your batter so, do not over mix!!!  Otherwise you will have a flat cake and you don’t want that…. do ya????  LOL

DSC02120

Pour Batter into your prepared spring form pan.  Bake 25 -30 minutes or until the cake no longer jiggles.  Every oven is different and my cake took 35 minutes.  Remove from the oven and let the cake cool in the pan on a wire rack.  It’s all puffed up but once it starts to cool it will calm it’s self down to an even looking, normal cake, promise!… well, it should. LOL

DSC02124

DSC02130See, I was right.  The cake settled right down after it was cooled. Yeah!!!

Once the cake is completely cooled, wrap it with plastic wrap and put it in the fridge over night.  I Put mine right on the window ledge in my kitchen to where you can see the dang window is frozen with frost!  Figured that would be a great place for it to cool off a bit faster, no what I mean jean!

 

DSC02152

In taking the pictures for this one,  I of course had to cut a piece out of the cake, put it on a plate and make it all pretty, right!!!

DSC02142

Well, the chocoholic in me found that stupid fork in the drawer and I just had to tasted it, then take another taste, and another until it was all gone.  I’m so ashamed!!!  But Damn, it was Delicious!!!  Moist, chocolaty, dense but not at the same time, and very, very rich!!  The Chocoholic in you will love it!!!

DSC02143

I didn’t have any time to make any raspberry sauce but I bet it would be fantastic with this cake!!

Now, when ready to serve, bring cake to room temperature,  sprinkle with some Powdered Sugar and maybe a side of Raspberry Sauce or homemade Sweetened Whipped Cream and you’re set.  You have a Beautiful cake that is rich, delicious and Gluten Free!!!  I also sprinkle some edible Gold Flake on it, gave it a little more class.

DSC02146

ENJOY!!!

 

Notes:  This recipe was inspired by Laura on her website called,                  “My Friend’s Bakery”

In Laura’s recipe it only called for 1/4 cup of sugar.  Since I live in the Rockie Mountain of Colorado, things seem to bake differently up here at 7,400 feet so I upped the sugar to 1/3 cup.  Normally I would decrease the amount of sugar in my baking up here but I think this will work nicely.  Laura, I’ll let ya know girlfriend!  And thanx for the recipe!!

 

2 thoughts on “Flourless Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

