Breakfast · Candy · Pork

BEER CANDIED BACON

DSC02476

My Son was coming over and I wanted to make him something special.  Something that I knew he would enjoy and that I should have made him at Christmas but just didn’t have the time to do.  Not with all the other baking projects I had going on at the time.  This was supposed to be just for him!!  Well, didn’t work out that way, that’s for sure!  I have two hungry guys of my own that I’m always feeding and they love bacon as much as any other man so when this Candied Bacon was all cooled and ready to be packaged up for my Son to take home…. Yeah, Right, NO WAY!!!  My Son told everyone to have at it and it was gone!!   I hope you and your family will enjoy this recipe and enjoy eating it as much as my family does.  Here’s everything you’ll need to make this yummy Candied Bacon.. ENJOY…

 

1   lb.          Thick Cut Bacon

1/2  C.      Brown Sugar

1/4  C.      Chocolate Porter Beer ( I used Boulder Beer “Shake Chocolate Porter but, any   kind will do).

 

Preheat Oven to 400 degrees.  In a small sauce pan combine the brown sugar and beer together and bring to a slow boil till the sugar is all melted.  Turn off heat.  Now for the fun, sticky part.

DSC02473

And of course, I forget to take a picture of it all melted and yummy looking in the sauce pan. LOL   Oops!!!

DSC02469

Line a large baking pan with parchment paper, NOT FOIL!!!….trust me, you’re not going to want to miss this step!!!  You’ll thank me later!!  Now, place a wire rack on top of your baking sheet.  Place Bacon strips on top of that.  It’s okay if they overlap a bit, no biggie.  Put your pan in the oven for 15 minutes.  Then, take your par-baked bacon out of the oven and brush on that yummy beer syrup all over every single piece of bacon on that tray.  Flip every piece of bacon, brush the other side with the beer syrup and put it back in the oven for 10 minutes. At this point, if you like, you could even put on some fresh ground pepper.  If you like that peppery kind of bacon..

DSC02475

Continue doing this every 10 minutes…. brush, flip, brush and back in the oven for 10 more minutes, until all your beer syrup is gone!!!  Once the bacon is completely cooled I transferred it to a clean sheet tray with wire racks as you can see above.  Gotta tell ya, this stuff, once it was cooled and I allowed my boys to taste it… Well… it didn’t last long, like 10 minutes, I kid you not!!!

DSC02470

From this beautiful slap of bacon I cut a few thick strips…

DSC02469

Laid it on a pan and covered it with yummy beer syrup….

DSC02474

And all of this was devoured in 10 minutes!!  So, my advice to you, if you have men in your house that just love bacon….Candied Bacon to be more specific,  make more than a pound at a time. LOL

GOTTA LOVE THAT PORKY GOODNESS!!!

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “BEER CANDIED BACON

Leave a Reply

