Breads · Breakfast · Jams

Tiny Pockets Of Sweetness

I was looking for something simple, quick and very sweet the other morning to make for breakfast and remembered of a pastry I saw on one of my cooking shows that I enjoy watching late at night.  I don’t remember the name of the pastry but the short of it was just this; a puff pastry with a sugar cube in the middle of it with the outside sprinkled with just regular white sugar and baked off in the oven.  Now, there is so much more to this delicate little morsel, like layers and layers of puffed pastry running thru a sheeter I can’t tell you how many times, to get to dough just the right consistency and the right amount of layers at the end.  All and all, it just seemed to look so perfect and even though I’ve never myself tasted one, I bet they are wonderful!  So, here is my attempt  and version of this sweet treat.  Enjoy…

 

This is what you will need..

1          sm. pkg.                            Crescent Rolls

6          large                                   All Natural Sugar Cubes

Pure Maple Syrup, for brushing on top

Turbinado Sugar or Sugar Crystals

 

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Butter a small muffin tin, set aside.  Take the Crescent Rolls out of the package and separate them as you normally would as if you would be making just plain ol’e rolls.  Now,  at the fatter end of the triangle, with a pair of kitchen shears, just cut a small slit, about 1/4″, if that big.  Place the sugar cube at the bottom of that little cut and begin to roll it up then shape it into a crescent shape, place it in on of the prepared muffin tin cubbies and repeat with the remaining Crescents.

DSC02366

Once all of your rolls are in the pan, I want you to take a pastry brush and put a light brushing of Pure Maple Syrup right on top of each one then sprinkle liberally with Turbinado Sugar.  Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or just until golden brown.

DSC02365

Serve Warm…. Right out of the oven….. Their really the best this way, I promise you!!!

Eat them straight up or with your favorite jam.  Hell, maybe even some bacon butter.  Yup, you read that right, I said BACON BUTTER BABY!!!

DSC02373

Questions??  I just may have the answers!!  Hope you enjoy adding this one more delicious item to your Brunch table..  Till next time….. ENJOY!!!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment