Birthday Cakes · Cakes · Frostings · Fruit · Jams · Naked Cakes

Vanilla Cake With Whipped Cream Cheese and Cherry-Berry Filling

I had a request from a new customer the other day for a Cake for her Mothers 70th Birthday Party.  All she told me is that she liked white cake with fruit filling and left the rest up to me.  So, I went with my favorite White, Vanilla Wedding Cake recipe which, just so happens also go with my Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting.  The Fruit filling I had to think about for a minute since I didn’t have any jam on hand that I thought would go well with this particular cake.  So, I opened up my freezer, took a look at all the fresh frozen fruit from last summer that I had stuck in there and there is all was, staring me in the face… bags of cherries and berries so, that’s what I made, Cherry-Berry Jam.  I’ve never made Cherry-Berry Jam before and I must say, it was pretty damn delicious!!!

Now, the disappointing part.  My White Wedding Cake Recipe has always been my little best kept secret, so sorry but, I won’t give it out, ever, never ever!!!  Well, maybe for $100,000.00 I would. LOL   Hell, even if someone offered me a book deal I would most definitely give it up for that, for sure.  Just sayin.  🙂

I will give you a few tips on how to get your own favorite white cake recipe, if you have one that is, close to the way mine turns out.  My cake is so very moist, dense and light all at the same time.  Of course you must let your cake stand out on the counter top, out of the fridge, for a good hour before slicing into it.  Otherwise, as we all know, the cake will still be a bit to firm and not the correct texture it should be.  Do we all agree?!!  Of course we do. You must remember this though, all of my recipes have been adjusted for higher altitudes above 7,300 feet.  Seriously though, all I can do is tell you a few of the ingredients that I put into my cake that make it so yummy and delicate yet strong enough to be used as a Wedding cake, with the right supports that is!!!   Okay, let’s get to it, shall we…

One more peek at this Beautiful cake, YES…

DSC02684

Where to begin… I know, I will just tell you what all is in my cake, just not how much of each ingredient, how’s that!  Man, I’m such a tease!  LOL  But ya know I love ya’ll bunches and bunches, trust me on that!!!

Ingredients for the Cake:

All-Purpose Flour, sifted

Baking Soda

Sugar

Salt

Water

Vegetable Oil

Clear Vanilla Extract

Sour Cream

Egg Whites

Sorry loves, this is as far as Kimmiz Kitchen Kreations recipe goes!

 

Let’s make the Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting now, shall we…

Ingredients you will need..

8  oz.                              Philadelphia Cream Cheese

1  1/2     Cups                Heavy Whipping Cream

1 -2       Cups                Powdered Sugar, sifted

1  1/2     tsp.                  Clear Vanilla Extract

Pinch of Salt

In a large glass bowl, whip the heavy whipping cream until you have reached the stiff peak form.  Set aside.  Better yet, put it in the fridge so it stays cold. (I put mine in the freezer).  Now, if you are so lucky to have two stand mixers this would make the process sooo much easier, let me tell you!!

In your stand mixer, using the paddle attachment, beat the cream cheese until it is smooth and creamy.  Add the powdered sugar and clear vanilla extract and the salt.  Mix until well combined, about 2 – 3 minutes.

Next, your going to fold the whipped cream into the cream cheese mixture.  Then use your stand mixer to fully incorporate  the combination until light and fluffy. Do this on the lowest speed people okay.  Don’t be thinking that if you use the highest speed that the frosting will get even more fluffy.  Nope, you’ll just break it!  So, do yourself a favor and use the lowest speed on your stand mixer.  You’ll thank me later for it.

Note:  You should put the frosting in the fridge for a couple of hours to bring it back up to temperature again, same with the cakes.  Makes decorating soooo much easier, let me tell ya!!!  Now, when your ready to use the frosting just use a whisk to fluff it up a bit, okie dokie.  🙂

As for the Cherry – Berry Filling..

Ingredients you will need…

1         lb.                          Frozen Strawberries, unsweetened

1 1/2   lbs.                        Frozen Mixed Berries, unsweetened

1          lb.                          Frozen Wild Blueberries, unsweetened

12       oz.                          Frozen Raspberries, unsweetened

1/2       lb.                           Frozen Cherries, unsweetened

3         Cups                       Sugar

3         Tbsp.                      Low No – Sugar Needed Pectin

Throw all of the frozen fruit and 2 1/2 cups of sugar into a heavy bottom pot and start to cook on medium  heat, stirring occasionally.  While the fruit is cooking whisk the remaining sugar and the pectin together.  Bring it all to a low boil for about 30 minutes. Slowly sprinkle in the sugar – pectin mixture, stir very well, you don’t want any lumps of pectin!  That’s why I mix some sugar into it.  Now, skim off any white foam, discard it.  You want it to become a bit thick.

Here’s a little trick; place a plate in the freezer for 20 minutes.  When you think your jam has reached the “jam” stage, take a little spoonful of it and spread it onto the frozen plate.  If it doesn’t run down the plate when you turn it sideways well then, your jam is ready to be bottled.

Pour your jam into sterilized jars, cap them and then give them a 16 minute water bath.  Living up in the mountains, they need a little longer in that hot Jacuzzi. LOL  When your timer goes off, carefully take them out and place them onto a clean dry towel and let them cool to room temperature.  When you hear them “Pop”, then you know you did it right!  They are perfectly sealed and ready to be put on the shelf for a year or so.  In a cool, dark place that is!  Hell, if you know anything about canning then you know what to do!!  🙂

DSC02688

And there you have it.  This cake was one of the cakes that I sold to help raise money for my trip to Arizona to see me 88 year old Father who now lives in the V.A. Home… Any Donations would be greatly appreciated!  Thank you for taking the time to stop by and read my blogs and have a little laugh here and there.  I hope I put a smile on your face today..  🙂

http://www.gofundme.com/rbzj2dyc

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

