Cakes · Cookies · Fruit · Gifts · Naked Cakes

Homemade Applesauce

DSC02704

Well, I went to the kitchen and to work I went on making myself some unsweetened applesauce.  I just love the satisfaction I get knowing that “I made this and, it tastes good too!”  You know that feeling, you just want to pat yourself on the back and give yourself a big hug cause you “ROCK”!!!  LOL   Okay, okay, getting my head out of the clouds now and back to business!

There was one point that I made a huge batch of this delicious stuff for my Grand Daughter last year when her Mommi started to feed her food.  Now, how much of it she actually ate, who knows.  Jack the cat probably ate more of it than she did. LOL   I still get a kick out of watching her grab a handful of food off of her plate, slowly moving her whole arm over the side of her high chair while she gives you this, “what are you looking at? I’m not doing anything bad.”, look,  as she drops that handful of food straight to the floor.  And who is in the wings just waiting and watching for that pretty little hand…. Jack….  Jack, Jack the Cat!  I didn’t think that cat could get any bigger but every time I see him, I think he has.

Well now, let me get to what all you will need for this recipe, shall I.. Oh, and this is just a small batch just to let ya know.  I had a bunch of apples in my fridge, literally for a couple of months, and I needed to do something with them.  It just turned out to be really good timing is all.  I mean, I am learning myself how to bake with applesauce now….I mean soon….I mean, when I get back from Arizona next month for sure, how’s that.  I even have the very first recipe sorta-kinda figured out.  I’m going to make Oat Muffins with some type of dried fruit, I think, (I’ve been on an oatmeal kick lately for some reason), I’m not sure yet but ya’ll will be the 2nd to find out. LOL    🙂

Okay, to the ingredients… (remember, this is what I had on hand and used for this particular recipe)  You can easily double it.

 

2                         Large Granny Smith Apples

3                         Small Granny Smith Apples

4                         Small Fuji Apples

2  Tbsp.             Apple Cider

2  Tbsp.             Fresh Lemon Juice

DSC02705

Wash your apples really well. I know your going to peel them and some of you are wondering, why wash them if I’m just going to peel them anyways.  Well, because other people have touched them and that’s all I think I need to say, don’t you!!!

Now, make sure you have a very sharp knife.  Makes the peeling process go a lot faster.  If you have one of those apple peeler, corer, slicer thingies that would really make things go fast for sure!  Anyhow, core and slice the apples into 8-10 equal slices then peel them and cut them into small little pieces.  They will cook faster the smaller the pieces are, just sayin.  🙂   As you’re peeling and cutting sprinkle into your heavy bottom pot that you are going to cook them in, some of the lemon juice to help keep the apples from turning brown while you are working on the rest of them.

DSC02712

The way I set my kitchen table up when I get ready to do this is, a cutting board in front of me with my knife and my apple cutter.  To the left is the strainer with the washed apples in it, in the center is the big pot and to the right is a bowl that I put the cores and peelings in.  I’m a little, O.C.D. at times. LOL

After each apple goes into the pot, stir it around to coat it a bit with the lemon juice that you have sprinkled in there. If you end up putting all of it in there, that’s fine, you don’t want your apples to brown at all.  So, juice it up, stir it up!!!

DSC02715

Put it on the stove on medium heat, add the Apple Cider and put the lid on.  Cook for about an hour to 2 hours, depending on how small you cut your apples up, stir every now and then to make sure nothing is sticking to the bottom of the pot.  About 30 minutes before your sauce if ready for canning get your jars ready.  Wash them well and sterilize them along with the lids and rims.  I sterilize mine in the oven.

Here you have a few choices.  If you like your applesauce chunky then at this point just ladle it into your jars and put the lids on.  If you like it a bit more smooth, ladle it all into a blender or your Ninja, which is what I have and use, and pulse it 8 -10 times and your done.  Ladle it all into your jars, put the lids on them and into the water bath they go for 15 minutes, no less!!  Just like Jams, they too like the Jacuzzi.  🙂

DSC02717

DSC02718

And there you have it.  My short little recipe for yummy no sugar added applesauce, i.e.: Homemade Applesauce.  Great for Gift giving, for baby food, for baking and really, really good on top of Potato Latkes. Yummy!!!

Hope you Enjoy…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

